Updated February 20, 2019

Golden Gate Bridge Suicide Deterrent System Construction Continues - Temporary Overnight Lane Closures Planned for Weeknights Through 2021

Bridge Remains OPEN to Traffic at ALL Times

The Golden Gate Bridge will have overnight lane closures to allow for Suicide Deterrent System construction. The Bridge roadway will REMAIN OPEN to all vehicle traffic during these temporary lane closures.

Drivers should expect to slow down around construction areas and may experience minor traffic delays during construction hours.


Monday, February 18, 2019, through Friday, February 22, 2019

There will be NO overnight lane closures on Monday, February 18.

Overnight Tuesday, February 19, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Wednesday morning).

Overnight Wednesday, February 20, the GGB roadway will narrow to one northbound lane and two southbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Thursday morning).

Overnight Thursday, February 21, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Friday morning).

Overnight Friday, February 22, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 7 a.m. (Saturday morning).


Monday, February 11, 2019, through Friday, February 15, 2019

Overnight Monday, February 11, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Tuesday morning).

UPDATE: There will be NO overnight lane closures on Tuesday, February 12 due to weather.

UPDATE: There will be NO overnight lane closures on Wednesday, February 13 due to weather.

Overnight Thursday, February 14, the GGB roadway will narrow to one northbound lane and two southbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Friday morning).

Overnight Friday, February 15, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 7 a.m. (Saturday morning).


Monday, February 4, 2019, through Friday, February 8, 2019

Overnight Monday, February 4, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Tuesday morning).

UPDATED INFO: Overnight Tuesday, February 5, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Wednesday morning).

Overnight Wednesday, February 6, the GGB roadway will narrow to one northbound lane and two southbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Thursday morning).

UPDATED INFO: Overnight Thursday, February 7, the GGB roadway will narrow to one northbound lane and two southbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Friday morning).

Overnight Friday, February 8, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 7 a.m. (Saturday morning).


Monday, January 28, 2019, through Friday, February 1, 2019

Overnight Monday, January 28, the GGB roadway will narrow to one northbound lane and two southbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Tuesday morning).

Overnight Tuesday, January 29, the GGB roadway will narrow to one northbound lane and two southbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Wednesday morning).

Overnight Wednesday, January 30, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Thursday morning).

Overnight Thursday, January 31, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Friday morning).

CANCELLED: Lane closures previously scheduled for Friday, February 1, have been cancelled due to weather.


Monday, January 21, 2019, through Friday, January 25, 2019

There will be NO overnight lane closures on Monday, January 21 due to the Martin Luther King Jr. holiday.

Overnight Tuesday, January 22, the GGB roadway will narrow to one northbound lane and two southbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Wednesday morning).

Overnight Wednesday, January 23, the GGB roadway will narrow to one northbound lane and two southbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Thursday morning).

Overnight Thursday, January 24, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Friday morning).

Overnight Friday, January 25, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m. (Saturday morning).


Monday, January 14, 2019, through Friday, January 18, 2019

Overnight Monday, January 14, the GGB roadway will narrow to one northbound lane and two southbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Tuesday morning).

UPDATED INFO: Overnight Tuesday, January 15, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Wednesday morning).

CANCELLED DUE TO WEATHER: Overnight Wednesday, January 16, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Thursday morning).

UPDATED INFO, WEATHER PERMITTING: Overnight Thursday, January 17, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Friday morning).

Overnight Friday, January 18, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 7 a.m. (Saturday morning).


Monday, January 7, 2019, through Friday, January 11, 2019

Overnight Monday, January 7, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Tuesday morning).

Overnight Tuesday, January 8, the GGB roadway will narrow to one northbound lane and two southbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Wednesday morning).

Overnight Wednesday, January 9, the GGB roadway will narrow to one northbound lane and two southbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Thursday morning).

Overnight Thursday, January 10, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Friday morning).

Overnight Friday, January 11, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m. (Saturday morning).


Monday, December 31, 2018, through Friday, January 4, 2019

There will be NO overnight lane closures on Monday, December 31 and Tuesday, January 1.

Overnight Wednesday, January 2, the GGB roadway will narrow to one northbound lane and two southbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Thursday morning).

Overnight Thursday, January 3, the GGB roadway will narrow to one northbound lane and two southbound lanes between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Friday morning).

Overnight Friday, January 4, the GGB roadway will narrow to one southbound lane and two northbound lanes between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m. (Saturday morning).